Author Topic: Hello everyone new caracruiser owners on board!!  (Read 5247 times)

boatfitter stu

• Free User
    • View Profile
Hello everyone new caracruiser owners on board!!
« on: May 28, 2009, 11:00:19 PM »
Hi all! we?ve just bought Nick Nack and are dead pleased!  ::) I?m a narrowboat fitter by trade and have been looking for a caracruiser for a while for me and my girlfriend to moor down Cambridge for weekends - we had a camper van last year and were really missing it. My girlfriend (who?s the technical one) found a link to Nick Nack when it was on eBay and it didn?t sell so we contacted the owner. We live in Wolverhampton so Tuesday we went to Kent to see it. We loved it and hooked it up! It soon became apparent that for some reason (still don?t know why??) that the boat wouldn?t stay still on the trailer - it kept rocking from side to side. After many stops and an improvisation with some wood we managed to stabilize the boat but it was leaning slightly to one side. So off we started on our 4 hour journey home.
           We were stopping regularly to check the boat and the tyres and all was well until just past junction 12 on the M40 when we had a blow out on the trailer!! We were mega cheesed off as we'd come most of the way! Thankfully my girlfriends in the AA so we rang them and they came and loaded Nick Nack onto the back of their truck. They took us to the services where we had to wait for another AA man to come and change the tyre as the original one wasn?t 'allowed' to do it and I couldn?t get the nuts off. Eventually we were on our way and arrived at the workshop at 10:30 pm - we'd left Kent at 3! I?m going to refit the inside and hopefully in a few weeks well be afloat! Your forums have been a brilliant source of information and ill keep you updated on our progress

bugsbreeze

• Free User
    • View Profile
Re: Hello everyone new caracruiser owners on board!!
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2009, 11:44:31 PM »
Hi Stu